Our authors

Our Books
More than 730 authors
from all continents

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law

Quality Control
An online symposium

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’

Integrity in international justice
Symposium on integrity
in international justice

      CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

刘大群法官TOAEP出版社新书发布会致辞

海牙,2012年11月19日

尊敬的大使阁下,尊敬的法官,女士们、先生们,

我感到莫大的荣幸,同时也非常高兴地发布“FICHL:国际刑法和人道法论坛”出版的新书:《国家主权与国际刑法》。这本论文集所收编的文章均出自“李浩培研讨会暨系列讲座”。该系列讲座的创办也是为了怀念已故的杰出中国法官和国际法权威专家李浩培法官对国际法的贡献。我有幸地与李法官一起共事,始于30多年前到中国外交部条法司工作,之后更是荣幸地接替了李法官在联合国前南斯拉夫问题国际刑事法庭和卢旺达问题国际刑事法庭的上诉分庭法官的职位。李法官不仅是一个极具睿智并富有洞察力的法官,而且也是一个和蔼可亲、善良谦逊的人。他颇具启发性的观点和对正义事业的坚定信念,都得到了同事们的普遍称誉与尊重。他同时也是一位拥有着无与伦比国际法知识的学者,其对国际刑法和法庭工作的贡献是极其宝贵的。

“李浩培研讨会暨系列讲座”和这本新书的出版都应主要归功于另一位杰出的学者莫滕•伯格斯默教授(Morten Bergsmo)。他作为研究人员、顾问和咨询师,在国际法和政策问题上拥有丰富的经验,并且曾先后在联合国前南问题国际刑事法庭和国际刑事法院的检察官办公室工作。伯格斯默教授目前在中国最负盛名的北京大学做客座教授,也因此成为了中国学者和外面世界之间沟通的桥梁。他是国际刑法和国际人道法领域的杰出学者,并且一直不懈地努力促进国际刑事法院与《罗马规约》的非缔约国之间的对话。没有他的投入奉献和努力,《国家主权与国际刑法》这本书的出版将是不可能实现的。

这本文集投稿者的多元化背景也是其显著特点,分别来自政府律师、国际法官以及法学教授等不同领域。而且,文章所关注的议题也是非常及时并且很有相关性,例如国家元首豁免,普遍管辖权和侵略罪。对于这些问题,国内与国际层面是如何探讨,争论乃至最终定论的,必将影响着对未来后代的国际法和外交政策。

其中一个亟待解决的迫切问题就是国家元首豁免。虽然主权豁免是业已形成的国际法规则,然而,对国际罪犯实施的国内和国际起诉,使得国家主权与国际罪行责任承担之间的关系面临难题,甚至变得更为复杂。有关国际刑法和豁免的法理论述也被描述为“令人困惑、自相矛盾、混肴不清,或者不具有连贯性”。

[罗伯特•克莱尔等编著(Robert Cryer et al.),《国际刑法和诉讼法导论》(第二版),第532页,2010年,参考范•阿勒贝克(van Alebeek)和巴克(Barker)]。因此,围绕着主权和国际刑法的疑难问题,对于国内法庭、国际法庭,甚至对于国际刑事法院的非缔约国,都是最为重要的问题。

就国内刑事法庭而言,国际法院已经明确判定习惯国际法认可在任国家元首对外国法院享有绝对豁免权,即使其被指控犯有国际罪行。(参见“逮捕令案”,国际法院,2002年,第58段)。只有相关国家放弃其现任国家元首的豁免权,该国家元首才能被另一外国国内法庭起诉。

相反,就国际刑事法庭针对国家元首的国际罪行的起诉,国家元首是否享有豁免权的问题是当前学术界和司法界共同争相激烈讨论的热点话题,也引发了诸多问题,例如《罗马规约》缔约国与非缔约国之间的差异、国际司法合作以及联合国安理会的作用。

前南问题国际刑事法庭和卢旺达问题国际刑事法庭均由联合国安理会设立。在其规约中明确规定:“任何被告的官方职位,不管是作为国家元首,政府官员或者负责任的政府官员,均不能免除其个人刑事责任或减轻刑罚。”(分别参见其规约的第7条第2款和第6条第2款。)而且,前南问题国际刑事法庭也已经判定这些规定为确认的习惯国际法规则。(参见Prosecutor v. Furundžija案判决,IT-95-17/1-T,1998年12月10日,第140段;Prosecutor v. Milošević案的初步动议决定,IT-99-37-PT,2001年11月8日,第28段。)

值得注意的是,前南问题国际刑事法庭和卢旺达问题国际刑事法庭的权力行使是基于《联合国宪章》的第七章。法庭的法官能够并已经向国家发出具有约束力的命令。在国家领土上进行法定调查时,法庭的起诉调查部门也并不需要获得有关国家的许可。

与此相反,国际刑事法院不能依据《联合国宪章》的第七章发出命令或决定。法院工作运行完全依赖于国家合作。 《国际刑事法院规约》缔约国的立场是明确的:批准《罗马规约》就意味着他们已接受所有条款,其中包括第27条规定,即:缔约各方的国家元首不能免于国际刑事法院的起诉。

然而,非缔约国却不受这些规定的约束,所以,国际刑事法院要对非缔约国的在任国家元首行使管辖权,最有效的方式就是通过联合国安理会提交情势。而反过来,这样的情势提交又将取决于联合国安理会成员国的政治意愿。

尽管如此,非缔约国(例如中国、俄罗斯和美国)与国际刑事法院之间这些错综复杂的关系不应该被理解为,他们对国际刑法的原则并没有深刻介入或者不感兴趣。虽然中国不是《罗马规约》的缔约国,却密切跟踪着国际刑事法院的发展及其案例。中国在安理会投赞成票,将利比亚情势提交国际刑事法院。2010年,在乌干达首都坎帕拉举行的国际刑事法院罗马规约的首届审查会议上,不管是《罗马规约》的修订还是侵略罪的通过,中国都积极参与对话,发挥了重要的作用。事实上,中国每年都已派出观察员代表团参加国际刑事法院罗马规约缔约国大会。今年中国观察员代表团团长是外交部法律顾问马新民先生。

中国学者和学生也以焕然一新的兴趣姿态跟随着国际刑法的发展。国际刑法和国际刑事法院的相关课程已在中国200多所法学院开设;每年无数的相关文章发表。另外,除了中国杰赛普国际法模拟法庭比赛和国际人道法模拟法庭比赛以外,由中国政法大学凌岩教授组织的国际刑事法院模拟法庭比赛,也是每年举行一次。今年,来自中国20个法学院的学生参加了比赛。前三名的参赛队来到海牙参加全球范围内的模拟法庭比赛,并取得了自中国队参赛以来的历史最好成绩。

虽然我特别提及了中国的情况,但也从不同角度反映了整个国际社会已提高了对这些议题的参与介入。国际刑法中的一些紧迫问题,例如“FICHL:国际刑法和人道法论坛”的出版作品所强调指出的一些议题,不仅越来越要求律师和学者的关注,同时也需要外交官、政治家和国际组织的关注。我们这些以此作为毕生事业的人,也有一份责任,审慎地推进这一持续性的对话。因此,我非常欣喜地祝贺“FICHL:国际刑法和人道法论坛”的新书《国家主权与国际刑法》的发布,也祝贺这一新书发布对促进对话所做出的贡献。

谢谢大家!

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film
More than 530 films
freely and immediately available

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium

Power in international justice
Symposium on power
in international justice

Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

Twitter

Statement by Judge LIU Daqun at TOAEP book launch

The Hague, 19 November 2012

Your Excellences, Ambassadors and Honorable Judges, Ladies and Gentlemen, it is my great honor and pleasure to launch the new publication of the Forum for International Criminal and Humanitarian Law, entitled “State Sovereignty and International Criminal Law”. The articles published in this collection are the result of the LI Haopei Seminar and Lecture Series, which was created to honor the international service and contribution of the late Judge LI Haopei, a distinguished Chinese judge and a leading authority on international law. I had the privilege to work with him beginning more than 30 years ago, when I joined the Treaty and Law Department of China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Later, I was honored to take oover his position as a judge of the Appeals Chamber of the International Criminal Tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda. In addition to being an extremely wise and perceptive judge, Judge LI was a kind and gentle person, respected by his colleagues for his enlightening views and admired for his strong belief in the cause of justice. He was also a scholar with an unparalleled knowledge of international law, and his contribution to international criminal law and to the work of the Tribunal has been invaluable.

Both the LI Haopei Seminar and Lecture series and this publication owe a great deal to another distinguished scholar, Professor Morten Bergsmo. In addition to his extensive experience as a researcher, consultant, and adviser on matters of international law and policy, he has worked in the Office of the Prosecutor in both the ICTY and the International Criminal Court. Professor Bergsmo is currently a Visiting Professor at the most prestigious university in China, Peking University, and in this capacity he is also a bridge between scholars in China and the outside world. He is a leading academic in the fields of international criminal law and international humanitarian law, and has worked tirelessly to promote dialogue between the ICC and non-States Parties to the Rome Statute. Without his dedication and effort, this book on “State Sovereignty and International Criminal Law” would not have been possible.

This publication is also remarkable for the diversity of its contributors. It boasts articles from government lawyers, international judges, and law professors in a variety of fields, among others. It addresses issues that are both timely and highly relevant, such as head of state immunity, universal jurisdiction, and the crime of aggression. How these topics are discussed, debated, and ultimately decided by both domestic and international jurisdictions will impact international law and foreign policy for generations to come.

One such pressing issue is that of head of state immunity. Although sovereign immunity is well established under international law, domestic and international prosecution of international criminals raises difficult questions about the relationship between sovereignty and accountability for atrocity crimes. Further complicating matters, the jurisprudence relating to international criminal law and immunity has been described as “perplexing, contradictory, confused or incoherent”

(R. Cryeret al., An Introduction to International Criminal Law and Procedure, p. 532, second edition 2010, with references to van Alebeek and Barker). As a result, engagement with the difficult questions surrounding sovereignty and international criminal law is of the utmost importance for national criminal courts, international tribunals, and, increasingly, even non-States Parties to the ICC.

With respect to national criminal courts, the International Court of Justice has made it clear that customary international law provides for absolute immunity for incumbent heads of state before foreign courts, even where they are accused of international crimes (see Arrest Warrant case, 2002 I.C.J. 3, at 58). Only where the country in question waives the immunity of its sitting head of state can that head of state be prosecuted before the domestic courts of a foreign nation.

In contrast, whether heads of state have immunity for international crimes before international tribunals is now a hotly debated topic in both academic and judicial circles, raising questions about the difference between States Parties and non-States Parties to the Rome Statute, international judicial cooperation, and the role of the Security Council of the United Nations.

Both the ICTY and the ICTR, which were created by the United Nations Security Council, provide in their Statutes that “the official position of any accused person, whether as Head of State or Government or as a responsible Government official, shall not relieve such person of criminal responsibility nor mitigate punishment” (articles 7(2) and 6(2) respectively). Moreover, the ICTY has held that these provisions were declaratory of customary international law (see Prosecutor v. Furundžija, Case No. IT-95-17/1-T, Judgment, at 140, 10 December 1998; and Prosecutor v. Milošević, Case No. IT-99-37-PT, Decision on Preliminary Motions, at 28, 8 November 2001).

Notably, the ICTY and the ICTR derive their authority from Chapter VII of the UN Charter. Their judges can and have issued binding orders to States. When conducting statutory investigations on the territory of states, the prosecution services of these Tribunals have not sought permission as such from the states concerned.

In contrast, the ICC cannot base its orders and decisions on Chapter VII of the UN Charter. The implementation of its work depends entirely on state cooperation. The position of States Parties to the ICC Statute is clear: by ratifying the Rome Statute, they have accepted all its provisions, including Article 27, which provides that heads of state of contracting parties are not immune from prosecution before the ICC.

However, non-States Parties are not bound by this provision, and so the most effective way for the ICC to have jurisdiction over the sitting head of state of a non State Party will be through a referral from the Security Council. In turn, such a referral will depend on the political will of the members of the Security Council.

Nevertheless, the complex relationship of non-States Parties—such as China, Russia, and the United States—to the ICC should not be taken to mean that they are not profoundly engaged with, and interested in, principles of international criminal law. Although China is not a party to the Rome Statute, it has followed the development of the International Criminal Court and its jurisprudence closely. China voted affirmatively in the Security Council to refer the situation in Libya to the ICC. China also took an active part in the dialogue concerning amendments to the ICC Statute and the adoption of the crime of aggression at the 2010 Review Conference in Kampala, Uganda. In fact, China has sent an observer delegation to the Assembly of States Parties every year. This year, China’s observer delegation is headed by Mr. MA Xinmin, one of the legal advisers of China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Chinese scholars and students are also following developments in international criminal law with a renewed interest. Courses on international criminal law and the ICC are now being taught in over 200 law schools in China, and countless articles on these subjects are published every year. In addition to the Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition and the International Humanitarian Law Moot Court Competition, the ICC Moot Court Competition is now held every year under the auspices of Professor LING Yan from China University of Political Science and Law. This year, students from about 20 law schools in China took part in the competition. The top three teams came to The Hague for the world-wide moot, and gained the best results to date since Chinese teams began participating in the moot court competition.

While I refer specifically to the Chinese experience, it is in many ways representative of the increased engagement of the international community as a whole with these topics. Pressing questions of international criminal law, such as those highlighted in the publications of the Forum for International Criminal and Humanitarian Law, increasingly demand the attention not only of lawyers and scholars, but of diplomats, politicians, and international organizations. Those of us who make these issues our life’s work have a responsibility to thoughtfully contribute to this ongoing dialogue. It is thus with great pleasure that I congratulate the Forum for International Criminal and Humanitarian Law on its contribution to this discussion through the launch of its new book on “State Sovereignty and International Criminal Law”.

Thank you.

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast