Our authors

Our Books
More than 730 authors
from all continents

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law

Quality Control
An online symposium

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’

Integrity in international justice
Symposium on integrity
in international justice

      CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

戴维•雷法官致辞(Judge David Re)

我必须首先认可国际法研究与政策中心(CILRAP)对国际学界的卓越贡献,并再次祝贺莫滕•伯格斯默教授(Morten Bergsmo)以其令人印象深刻的组织能力领导出色完成这一重要项目。我深感荣幸受邀参加此次独一无二的历史性活动。本项目的学术层次及其涵盖范围异乎寻常、卓越不凡。项目采用的汇聚世界各地的学者尤其是亚洲学者的方法本身,即是一项重大成就。我谨在此对所有项目参与人员表示祝贺,对本次边会活动的举办方表示感谢。

正如两卷文集的作者告诉我们的,我们必须认识到,国际刑法的每一部分都具有其特定的历史渊源。时间拨回至1945年,我们可以说,“在初期,有纽伦堡审判。”在缺乏先例的情况下,“必要性”成为了先例创建之根由。

现在你们或许已经被第四卷本人章节中的一些“进化性的、革命性或更具危害性的”(evolutionary, revolutionary or something more sinister)标题所吸引,那么接下来,我将从历史视角解读纽伦堡与东京法庭的构架、程序规则和实践三个主题,并解释为什么它们依然继续深深地影响着当代国际刑法。对于是否是“进化性的、革命性的或者更具危害性的”问题,答案似乎是三者的混合物。

有人经常说,甚至被著名评论家认为,纽伦堡法庭没有程序规则。据说,法官们在审判过程中制定了所有的规则,而且那些规则即是所有的文件。(另外,我们不应忘记的是,纽伦堡法庭仅仅传唤了33位证人出庭。)那么,他们是如何犯错了呢?事实上,《伦敦宪章》规定了11项主要程序规则以及35项次级规则。然而,法官制定的规则包括9项规则和被细分的20项次级规则。

值得注意的是,纽伦堡与东京法庭的核心架构、程序及罪行在以其修订版的形式依然存续于现代的国际刑事法庭(法院)。经由纽伦堡与东京法庭发展形成的重要架构、规则和实践亦已促成了现代至关重要的国际刑事诉讼规则。那么具体存续下来的是什么?

  • 对抗式审判的基本要素;
  • 国际法官的混合审判模式;
  • 独立调查检察官(作为法庭的组成部分);
  • 证据认定的包容性规则而非排除性规则。

还有些其它相对一般的实践和原则存续下来:

  • 严重依据书证(在某些案件中)包括宣誓书类书面证人证言;
  • 不包含证据的起诉书;
  • 认罪答辩;
  • 判决事实的司法通知:应用于其它相关案件的更广意义上的最终判决文书;
  • 预审动议;
  • 法庭证据请求命令;
  • 起诉证据在预审阶段的全部披露;
  • 允许被告在其它案件中作证以及提供非经宣誓类证词。

其它一些实践,例如对管辖权的挑战,源于20世纪40年代的法庭实践,而非法庭程序规则。另外一类被一些现代国际法庭(法院)沿用的实践中包括法官制定法庭程序和证据规则。这里存在的例外是国际刑事法院(ICC)的法官并没有制定其程序和证据规则,而是制定了《法院条例》。(译者注:ICC的《程序与证据规则》是由缔约国会大会制定。)相类似的程序制度,即便在融合了国际人权法之后,仍然在现代的国际刑事法庭中继续沿用。

1945年,盟国一致希望在程序上以包容性认定证据的方法进行快速审判。他们希望依据书证而非证人证言来判定结果。因此,他们采用了混合模式,融合了普通法系与大陆法系特点。法庭程序规则主要出自于美国军事委员会。该委员会旨在审判入境美国的非敌方战斗员身份的纳粹分子,与此同时也确保禁止使用普通法中适用于民事审判和军事法庭的证据排除规则。这些规则源于一项总统行政命令。(美国最高法院于1942年在ex parte Quirin案中支持了上述规则。)

美国向战后同盟国(苏联、法国和英国)建议使用这些相同的规则。他们接受了美国的提议。设立于东京的远东国际军事法庭采用了实质上与纽伦堡法庭基本相同的程序规则和法庭架构。而且,对于透明度,每一盟国派出的法官和检察官必须构成法庭的一部分,并且在国际环境中一起合作共事。

时间再向前拨至大约五十年,前南斯拉夫问题国际刑事法庭(ICTY)于1993年和1994年(随后卢旺达问题国际刑事法庭,ICTR)采用了非常相似的法庭规则和结构。

但为什么会这样呢?ICTY和随后的ICTR、塞拉利昂特别法庭(SCSL)、黎巴嫩特别法庭(STL),以及(很大程度上的)国际刑事法院(ICC)相继遵循了纽伦堡证据程序规则,即包容性证据认定规则、不受技术性规则约束、证据须具有相关性及证明力、采纳传闻证据,等等。对于以上现象的最佳解释是成本考虑、实用主义以及遵循先例。

这些程序本身还包含一项内置的透明度规则,其原因是需要公开展示所有同盟国的证据和起诉的案件。

透明度是国际法庭的基石。国际法庭可能涉及委托主权,而在这一主权委托的过程中,主权国家对法庭的信心是需要的。程序的透明度则可以建立这样的信心。这也有助于克服当时苏联与其它盟国间的相互不信任和猜疑,而且今天国家对法庭的这种不信任与猜疑仍然继续存在着。这里所言的透明度,以不太妥当的方式讲,指的是相互确保的透明度

因此,有关进化性的,革命性的,或某种更危害性的问题?答案需要将三个主题结合起来回答。作为第一个国际刑事法庭,纽伦堡国际军事法庭是革命性的。

具有进化性吗?法庭的结构和程序已演变成为现代国际刑事法庭(法院)所使用的结构和程序。刑事法庭机构网络业已出现并扩大延伸至国际人权法保障领域。此外,还产生了一些其它特色,例如:受害人和证人的角色,复杂的国家合作机制和量刑制度。

存有危害性吗?鉴于当时组建法庭过程中的动因——对战败敌人进行纪录片式的迅速审判,同时审判又需要对外展现公平公正性(the appearance of fairness),因此,在某种意义上,法庭设计具有些许危害性是不难理解的。纽伦堡谈判过程显露出了强烈的支持起诉且压制辩护权的愿望。为限制辩护方对抗检方的能力,他们不得不省去有关证据的任何“技术性”规则。他们想利用纳粹文件指控被告,但没有口头证据。因此,程序规则亦相应地设计如斯,以应对其需要。但与此同时,审判仍需显示公正。

但是,这种不信任与共同利益的融合对国际刑事法庭程序的公共透明度提出了要求。

这种冲突尽管是有关大陆法和普通法传统之间或者说专制与民主制度之间的法律文化冲突,但更多的是有关司法外观(the appearance of justice)的冲突。美国在1945年4月为伦敦谈判法庭草案而准备的谈判议案被折衷编入纽伦堡国际军事法庭的程序和证据规则里。 然后,1993年在为历史性的前南问题国际刑事法庭找寻法庭结构形式及程序规则时,他们演变成了一种混合模式,其已不同程度地被现代国际刑事法庭(法院)沿用至今。

这一讨论同样也可以应用到国际法研究与政策中心(CILRAP)的研究项目。正如纽伦堡法庭一样,它是第一个,因此可以荣幸地被认为是革命性的。对于进化性?事实上,四卷论文已经发展完成;毫无疑问,其他人将会跟随CILRAP的引导,我尤其希望是在亚洲地区。

至于危害性?我想说的是,只有当回顾过去时,我们才能从中吸取更多教训,也因而更能理解今天。但我相信,今天在座的各位没有人会反对回顾过去。

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film
More than 530 films
freely and immediately available

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium

Power in international justice
Symposium on power
in international justice

Our authors

Our Books
More than 730 authors
from all continents

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law

Quality Control
An online symposium

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’

Integrity in international justice
Symposium on integrity
in international justice

      CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

Statement by Judge David Re

I must first recognise CILRAP’s remarkable contribution to international legal scholarship and once again congratulate Professor Morten Bergsmo for his impressive organisational skills in bringing this outstanding project together. I feel honoured and privileged to have been asked to participate in this unique and historical event. The level of scholarship and its reach is exceptional. Bringing together scholars from all over the world – and most particularly from Asia – in this manner is a momentous achievement. Congratulations to everyone involved and thank you to the co-sponsors of today’s event.

We must recognise – as the authors in these two publications teach us – that everything in international criminal law has an historical basis. And, going back to 1945, we can say that, “in the beginning there was Nuremberg”. Necessity, in the absence of any precedent, was the mother of invention.

And now that you’ve been lured in here by the title of “evolutionary, revolutionary or something more sinister” of my chapter in Volume 4, I will explain the three themes in their historical context and why the structures, procedural rules and practices of the Nuremberg and Tokyo Tribunals continue to heavily influence international criminal law today. The answer to whether it is “evolutionary, revolutionary or something more sinister”, it appears, is a mixture of the three.

It has been often said – and even by distinguished commentators – that there were no Rules at Nuremberg. The judges, it is said, made it all up as they went along – and it was all documents anyway. (Nuremberg, let us not forget, had only had 33 witnesses called to the courtroom.) Well, how wrong were they? The London Charter actually had 11 substantive rules with 35 sub-sections. Its judge-made rules had 9 rules divided into 20 sub-sections.

And, remarkably the core of the structures, the procedures and the crimes at Nuremberg and Tokyo continues in a modified form in modern international courts and tribunals. Some significant structures, rules and practices developed at Nuremberg and Tokyo have inspired key international criminal procedural law rules. What has survived?

  • The most basic aspects of an adversarial trial;
  • mixed panels of international judges;
  • an independent investigating prosecutor – as part of the court structure; and
  • inclusionary rather than exclusionary rules for admitting evidence.7

There are also other less fundamental practices and principles which persist:

  • a heavy reliance on documents (in some cases) including affidavit type witness testimony;
  • indictments that do not contain evidence;
  • pleas of guilty;
  • judicial notice of adjudicated facts – a wider form of res judicata spilling over into other cases;
  • pre-trial motions;
  • the order of calling evidence at proceedings;
  • full pre-trial disclosure of prosecution evidence; and
  • allowing defendants both to testify in their own case and give unsworn statements.

Others, such as challenges to jurisdiction, emerged from the 1940s practices rather than the rules. Another category of practices adopted by some modern international courts and tribunals but not others is, for example, judicial rule-making (by all bar the ICC where it exists in a modified form in the Regulations of the Court). And even with the intervention of international human rights law, similar procedural regimes continue in modern international criminal trials.

In 1945, procedurally, the Allies were united in their desire to conduct a rapid trial with procedures favouring an inclusionary approach to admitting evidence. They wanted documents, not witnesses, to decide the result. Consequently, they adopted a hybrid combining features of both the common law and civil law systems. The Rules were fundamentally derived from the American military commissions invented to try non-enemy combatant Nazi saboteurs who had landed in the United States – to ensure that the common law evidentiary exclusionary rules applicable in civilian trials and courts-martials – did not apply. These came from a Presidential executive order (this was upheld in the US Supreme Court in ex parte Quirin in 1942).

The Americans proposed to their post-war Allies (the Soviet Union, France and the United Kindom) using these same rules – and they were accepted. The International Military Tribunal for the Far East in Tokyo adopted virtually the same procedural and structural route. And, for transparency, judges and prosecutors from each Ally had to be part of the Tribunal. And they had to work together in an international environment.

Moving forward some fifty years, the ICTY in 1993 and 1994 (and then the ICTR) adopted very similar rules and structures.

But why? The best explanation for the ICTY and then the ICTR, the SCSL, the STL and, to a large extent, the ICC keeping the Nuremberg evidentiary procedures – inclusionary rules, not bound by technical rules, the evidence having to be relevant and probative, hearsay being admissible etc. – is cost, pragmatism and precedent.

Lawyers (and diplomats) naturally lean towards the known rather than the unfamiliar. International criminal proceedings – involving multiple international actors – require hybrid structures and procedures. Nuremberg was a known precedent.

The procedures also contained a built-in transparency, resulting from needing a public showing of both the evidence and the prosecution case of each Nuremberg Ally.

Transparency is the bedrock of international trials. International trials may involve devolved sovereignty and confidence is needed in this process of devolution. Procedural transparency can build such confidence. This helps to overcome the mutual mistrust and suspicion – a less polite way of referring to mutually assured transparency – existing between Soviet Union and the other three Allies – and continues to exist.

So, evolutionary, revolutionary, or something more sinister? The answer combines the three themes. As the first international criminal trial, the Nuremberg IMT was revolutionary.

Evolutionary? The structures and procedures have morphed into those used by the modern international criminal courts and tribunals. A network of institutions has emerged and expanded and evolved to encompass the international human rights law guarantees. Other features include the role of victims and witnesses, sophisticated state co-operation regimes and sentencing regimes.

And sinister? Well, due to the motivations in constructing the original court processes – a rapid, documentary trial of the defeated enemy, but with the appearance of fairness – it was understandably somewhat sinister. The Nuremberg negotiations reveal a strong desire to buttress the prosecution and to suppress defence rights. To restrict the defence’s capacity to challenge the prosecution’s case, they had to dispense with any “technical” rules of evidence. They wanted to use the Nazi documents against the defendants but without oral evidence. The procedures were accordingly designed. But, at the same time, the trial had to appear fair.

But this convergence of mistrust and common interest demanded public transparency in the procedures of any resulting international criminal tribunal.

The conflict though was less about legal cultures – between the civil law and common law traditions, or even between authoritarian and more democratic regimes – than about the appearance of justice. The US negotiating proposals of April 1945 for the London negotiating drafts compromised into the Nuremberg IMT procedures and rules. And then – by the 1993 accident of history of a tribunal in search of a structural form and procedures – they mutated into a legal hybrid that has more or less survived today in the modern international criminal courts and tribunals.

This same theme could also be applied to the Centre for International Law Research and Policy’s project. Like Nuremberg it is the first and hence has the honour of being revolutionary. Evolutionary? Indeed – four volumes have evolved and undoubtedly others will follow CILRAP’s lead – particularly, I hope, in Asia.

But sinister? Well, only if you oppose casting sunlight onto the past, from which we can learn so much, to explain where we are today. But I know that none of you here today would do that.

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film
More than 530 films
freely and immediately available

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium

Power in international justice
Symposium on power
in international justice